WSAVA Webinar: COVID-19 and Companion Animals – What we know today

COVID-19 – An update for WSAVA Members

April 11th, 2020

WSAVA Webinar: COVID-19 and Companion Animals – What we know today

Friday April 17, 2020

14.00hrs GMT {10.00hrs (EST); 15.00hrs (London); 22.00hrs (Hong Kong)}

 

The Covid-19 pandemic is causing distress and uncertainty for us all. It also poses a significant and real threat to companion animal welfare, particularly given conflicting media reports on whether pets can spread the virus. As part of our effort to keep you up-to -date with the latest information on COVID-19, we are hosting an hour-long webinar next Friday April 17.  The expert speakers are:

 

  • Dr Vanessa Barrs, Professor of Companion Animal Health, City University of Hong Kong
  • Dr Michael Lappin, Chair of the WSAVA One Health Committee
  • Dr Shane Ryan, WSAVA President

During the webinar they will address what the evidence actually tells us about COVID-19 and companion animals, as well as how to provide optimal preventative care for pets in the face of the pandemic. They will also discuss the important role that veterinarians can play in promoting pet welfare and supporting the human-companion animal bond during this difficult time.

 

We hope that the information our speakers will give you will help you to reassure your clients, your co-workers and
your communities based on the latest evidence. We also hope our recommendations support
you in continuing to provide the highest standard of care to your patients.

We are grateful to WSAVA Diamond Partner the Purina Institute and WSAVA Industry Partner Zoetis for their generous support of this webinar.

We hope that you and many of your members will be able to join the webinar live so please share this information with them urgently.  If you are unable to watch it live, you will also be able to watch it on demand when it is added to the WSAVA’s COVID-19 resource hub.  We have again added new content this week, much of it available in a range of languages, for which we we extend our grateful thanks to the WSAVA One Health, Scientific and Translation Committees.

Please keep yourselves and your families safe in these difficult times.

 

On behalf of the WSAVA Secretariat,

Emma van Rooijen

Executive Assistant

World Small Animal Veterinary Association

e: admin@wsava.org

www.wsava.org

Vision Statement: All companion animals worldwide receive veterinary care that ensures their optimal health and welfare
Mission Statement: To advance the health and welfare of companion animals worldwide through an educated, committed
and collaborative global community of veterinary peers